Amazing debuts….

There is a debate raging about women author’s share of hype/reviews/buzz/critical attention. They may be under-represented in hype, but in terms of quality, women novelists are currently winning the gender battle. I’ve read three debut novels recently by women that are absolutely incredible:

The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily Danforth is about a lesbian teenager sent to a re-education “pray the gay away” camp. The writing is gorgeous, the characters are heartbreaking – it’s all fabulous.

I recently re-read Karen Russell’s Swamplandia! which I have raved about before. So dark yet somehow light and airy.

I’m currently reading The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff, her 2008 debut and so far I’m blown away.

Also, The Antagonist by Lynn Coady (not her debut) was without a doubt the best novel of the last five years. She’s brilliant and tragically underrated.

3 thoughts on “Amazing debuts….

  1. I have to admit, I’m somewhat guilty of reading predominantly male authors, though I think that’s more a symptom of the marketing mechanics behind the publishing industry (something I know little about). Having said that, Alix, you haven’t steered me wrong yet and I have to add my voice to the praise for “Swamplandia!” and “The Antagonist”. I’ll check out the other two you mentioned here soon. Also, check out “A Visit from the Goon Squad” by Jennifer Egan.

Leave a Reply

