On dead rock stars and lifelong love stories…

I just read Bruce Springsteen’s eulogy for Clarence Clemons, and as I expected, it’s astonishingly beautiful.

So, I’ll miss my friend, his sax, the force of nature his sound was, his glory, his foolishness, his accomplishments, his face, his hands, his humor, his skin, his noise, his confusion, his power, his peace. But his love and his story, the story that he gave me, that he whispered in my ear, that he allowed me to tell… and that he gave to you… is gonna carry on. I’m no mystic, but the undertow, the mystery and power of Clarence and my friendship leads me to believe we must have stood together in other, older times, along other rivers, in other cities, in other fields, doing our modest version of god’s work… work that’s still unfinished. So I won’t say goodbye to my brother, I’ll simply say, see you in the next life, further on up the road, where we will once again pick up that work, and get it done.

Big Man, thank you for your kindness, your strength, your dedication, your work, your story. Thanks for the miracle… and for letting a little white boy slip through the side door of the Temple of Soul.

The two had a special relationship, which I’ve seen several journalists refer to as “an interracial bromance”. People suck sometimes.

Also, I forgot about this song, not surprising, since it’s a one-hit wonder country single from 2008. I heard it again back home, and I realized it’s one of the best love songs I’ve ever heard, about one of the best love stories I’ve ever seen. I’m a sucker for a great chorus, and not only is this one catchy, it’s a tearjerker, and not in that Alan Jackson/Keith Urban exploitative way. It’s got a big build-up, but it’s so simple, it’s so gorgeous:

And when you’re gone, I wanna go too.

I didn’t put the real music video in here, because it sucks, and it’s a part of that Nashville machine that churns out girls like this by the thousands. I wish this song had gotten more attention, and I wish the video wasn’t so god damn cheesy.

Leave a Reply

