Trying…

to get back to writing my novel. I’ve taken an extended hiatus from it, because, well, it scares the hell out of me, and I run away from it like it has the plague.

During one of my procrastination bouts, I discovered this blog called Geez Pete, written by a pretty sharp and hilarious lady, who largely shares my sense of musical righteous indignation. This post in particular, was awesome:

Well, the “You’ve Never Heard?!” feature on NPR Music’s (otherwise great) All Songs Considered blog, for one. As the site editors describe it: “This is a recurring series in which we ask our unimaginably young interns to review classic albums they’ve never heard before.” OK, sure.Now, I’m all for discovery. The learning process. Expanding horizons. But friends, this tyranny cannot stand. How is it acceptable that you’re an intern at a music site, and you’ve never heard, for example, Cream’s Disraeli Gears? OK, OK, while I consider that particular album to be Eric Clapton’s only palatable work, not to mention a critical album in a mini-age of rock power trios, let’s try another one. Something a bit more obvious. Say… Beach Boys Pet Sounds. No? Haven’t heard that? How about maybe The Velvet Underground & Nico? Not influential enough? Doesn’t ring a bell?

Here’s one. How about the fuggin Joshua Tree? U2? Know that one? “With or Without You”? “Where the Streets Have No Name”? “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”? 25 million copies sold? No?

Geezer alert on this, but since when is it OK to be seeking a career in music journalism and not have heard this stuff? How did this come about, exactly? Here’s a better question: When did dignity get so scarce that you might be an intern at a music website and actually admit to never having heard this stuff? In the words of Pantera, “Is there no standard anymore?”

I truly enjoy that she has a category for her blog posts called “Geezerisms”. I’m going to be twenty-six next month, but musically, I feel a hundred. We’ve been through this before – my musical tastes are pretty similar to most 55-year-old (male) music geeks, complete with a Daniel Lanois fetish. That’s not saying I can’t get down to some Lil Wayne, Florence + the Machine, Mumford and Sons, and whatever new stuff I happen to be liking these days.

But goddamn it, music did not begin and end with Radiohead, you shit rats.

Leave a Reply

