Reba-magic.

Oh Reba. Nobody does Southern Gothic like Reba. I’ve been big time into Southern Gothic lately, even more so than usual. Is there anything better than a murder ballad?

This song is so rad. Bobbie Gentry is the queen of Southern Gothic, and she wrote one of my all time favourite songs, Fancy, perhaps the saddest frigging song ever recorded.

And as Johnny Cash calls her, Our Mississippi River Delta Queen. Yep:

And then twenty years later, Reba get a hold of that tune and just CRANKS IT AND I LOVE IT SO MUCH!

Oh, and we watched Winter’s Bone last night. A fine entry in the Southern gothic canon. Watch it, it’s soooooooo good. Jennifer Lawrence is frigging raw and amazing.

4 thoughts on “Reba-magic.

  1. Very cool. As far as I know, I’m the world’s only physician bluegrass fiction writer. My book is “The Mandolin Case,” a medical legal mystery resolved by bluegrass pickers. Check it out on Amazon if you get a chance.

    Dr. B

  2. As soon as I saw the top of your post and the words “Southern Gothic” I thought to myself “Man, she would love ‘Ode to Billie Joe’ by Bobbie Gentry!” Then, of course, I read the rest. I love that song so much.

Leave a Reply

