I’m a bit of an old fogey

George Packer blogs at the New Yorker about books. He wonders why journalists aren’t reading books or newspapers anymore, and takes a lot of heat for it:

Instead, the response to my post tells me that techno-worship is a triumphalist and intolerant cult that doesn’t like to be asked questions. If a Luddite is someone who fears and hates all technological change, a Biltonite is someone who celebrates all technological change: because we can, we must. I’d like to think that in 1860 I would have been an early train passenger, but I’d also like to think that in 1960 I’d have urged my wife to go off Thalidomide.

I agree with the “intolerant cult” side of things…  “Because we can, we must” has gotten us into a lot of trouble before.

Leave a Reply

