Why aren’t any of these stories in the news?

I am so sick of this bullshit about abortion going on in the mainstream media. I am so sick of the debate, because it isn’t even a debate: these stories never find their way into the public consciousness. It’s all bullshit. This is from a blogger at Salon:

I spent my first year as a law student helping teenagers get abortions.   I worked the phones at a small non-profit called Jane’s Due Process, which as far as I know, is the only organization in the country that helps teens navigate the judicial bypass process to get abortions without parental consent or notification.   (You should Google it and make a donation right now.)  I am now a volunteer attorney for them.  It is righteous work.   I am  paranoid about telling people I about it.  I often leave it off my resume.   

Bill O’Reilly may snarl that the “left wing” is trying to silence him, but he has a TV show.   Its people like me, and the girls I work with, who have truly been silenced.   We are the ones who are staring down the barrel of a gun. 

Everybody loves parental consent laws for abortion.  They are an easy sell. Who wouldn’t want parents involved in the medical decisions of their daughter; and as the pundits are quick to point out the vast majority of teens approach their parents first anyway, so this law only affects a small number of young women.  What that means in practice is that the only people truly affected are the people you would least like to see affected: abused teens, abandoned teens, and teen in situations of novel dysfunction. 

I’ve always been pro-choice, but it was never something I thought about too much. Now that I’ve been bombarded by this issue all week, I am even more resolutely pro-choice. I want these kinds of stories out there.

Leave a Reply

